08.23.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

The Free Lance-Star newsroom contacts

Back to Contact Us | Newsroom | Executive | Operations | Advertising

Editorial page staff
Chelyen Davis
cdavis@freelancestar.com
Assistant Editorial Page Editor
Writes editorials, edits opinion pages and the Viewpoints section
368-5028
Howard Owen
howen@freelancestar.com
Editorial Page Editor
Oversees the opinion pages and writes editorials
540/374-5539

Editors
Dick Amrhine
damrhine@freelancestar.com
Real Estate editor
Oversees House & Home, Live Well and Farm & Garden sections
374-5406
Brian Baer
bbaer@fredericksburg.com
Digital editor
Oversees digital operations including fredericksburg.com, breaking news, videos, emailed newsletters, photo galleries and social media.
368-5053
Jonas Beals
jbeals@freelancestar.com
Sounds Editor
Coordinates music coverage in the Weekender section
368-5036
Gail Choochan
gchoochan@freelancestar.com
Weekender editor
374-5430
Steve DeShazo
sdeshazo@freelancestar.com
Sports editor
He is also the columnist for the sports section.
374-5443
Dave Ellis
dellis@freelancestar.com
Director of photography 374-5437
Dick Hammerstrom
rhammer@freelancestar.com
Local news editor
Coordinates intern program and writes about FOIA issues
374-5414
Phil Jenkins
pjenkins@freelancestar.com
Editor of The Free Lance-Star
Oversees the News Department
374-5422
Hilary Kanter
hkanter@freelancestar.com
Religion Editor 374-5000, ext. 5738
Sandy Mahaffey
smahaffey@freelancestar.com
Editor of the Books page 374-5410
Elizabeth Pezzullo
epezzullo@freelancestar.com
Food and Special Sections Editor
Also edits the Star Weekly
540/374-5421
Katherine Shapleigh
kshapleigh@freelancestar.com
Local news editor
Oversees Sunday Life, Friday Life and Town & County sections and coverage of history, television and movies and King George County government
374-5461
Betty Snider
bsnider@freelancestar.com
Managing editor
Oversees day-to-day operations of the newsroom, including special sections and TV Star.
374-5427
Bill Tolbert
btolbert@freelancestar.com
Local news editor
Also edits the Communities section and oversees coverage of Caroline, Spotsylvania and Stafford counties
374-5000, ext. 5693
Jim Toler
jtoler@freelancestar.com
Metro news editor
Oversees the local news desk and coverage of police and courts, transportation, the environment, the military and Fredericksburg government
374-5416

Features staff
Clint Schemmer
cschemmer@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers local history
368-5029
Jenny Strobel
jstrobel@freelancestar.com
Features reporter
Writes the Flashback column in Town & County
374-5000, ext. 5698

Local news reporters
Jeff Branscome
jbranscome@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers Spotsylvania County government
374-5402
Cathy Dyson
cdyson@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Writes about fascinating people and places and King George County government
374-5425
Keith Epps
kepps@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers police and courts in Fredericksburg and Stafford and King George counties
374-5404
Pamela Gould
pgould@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers Fredericksburg government, pets and justice issues
657-9101
Rob Hedelt
rhedelt@freelancestar.com
Local columnist
Also reviews movies for Weekender and television for Life
374-5415
Laura Hutchison
lhutchison@freelancestar.com
Reporter
General assignment
374-5485
Cathy Jett
cjett@freelancestar.com
Business Editor
Also writes about business, including retail growth, development and banking
374-5407
Donnie Johnston
djohnston@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers Culpeper County and writes columns
374-5400
Dan McFarland
dmcfarland@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers Orange County
374- 5400
Scott Shenk
sshenk@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers transportation
374-5436
Robyn Sidersky
rsidersky@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers Caroline County and the Fredericksburg school system
374-5413
Portsia Smith
psmith@fredericksburg.com
Reporter
Covers police and courts in Spotsylvania, Caroline, Louisa and Westmoreland counties
374-5419
Amy Umble
aumble@freelancestar.com
Reporter
Covers health and medicine, parenting and social services
735-1973

Online News Staff
Brian Baer
bbaer@fredericksburg.com
Digital editor
Oversees digital operations including fredericksburg.com, breaking news, videos, emailed newsletters, photo galleries and social media.
368-5053
Alex Russell
arussell@fredercksburg.com
Multimedia Coordinator ext 5438

Photography staff
Suzanne Carr Rossi
scarr@freelancestar.com
Photographer 374-5000, ext. 5690
Pete Cihelka
pcihelka@freelancestar.com
Staff photographer 540/374-5000, ext. 5
Dave Ellis
dellis@freelancestar.com
Director of photography 374-5437
Reza Marvashti
rmarvashti@freelancestar.com
Chief photographer 540/374-5439
Kevin Morrow
kmorrow@freelancestar.com
Image technician and photographer 374-5439

Sports staff
Taft Coghill
tcoghill@freelancestar.com
Sports reporter
Covers local high schools and the area's colleges
374-5526
Steve DeShazo
sdeshazo@freelancestar.com
Sports Editor 374-5443
Justin Rice
jrice@freelancestar.com
Assistant sports editor
Coordinates the sports staff and oversees high school coverage
368-5045
Nathan Warters
nwarters@freelancestar.com
Sports reporter
Covers local high schools, Virginia Tech sports and does issue-based reporting on the local sports scene
374-5442