Return to story


December 9, 2012 12:11 am


Battlefield Elementary

The following students were recognized for being fair the first nine weeks:

Third grade--Mackensie Watkins, Khysser Arbid, Kylie Watkins, Lucian White, Sean Ludwick, Mary Sublett, Devin Ealand, Jessie Bronski, Kieran Pinney, Kimora Bryant, Griffin Taylor

Fourth grade--Austin Gagnon, Esther Park, Braeden Steely, Yonna Bowden, Aidan Gwartney, Allyson Hastings, Auston Hall, Kyler Winston

Fifth grade--Austin George, Milton Grijalva, Rebecca Clutts, Jaiden Wright, Shelbi Shelton, Clifton Goode, Korey Jackson, Justin Sexton, Madeline Kenerly, Tristan Kitchens.

Mia Allison is the Art Star of the Week for her marker-and-watercolor trees.

Fifth-grader Elijah Campbell is the Math Problem Solver of the Week.

--Sandra Decatur

Berkeley Elementary

The following students were chosen as Citizen of the Month: Wynter O'Toole, Aleigh Thrall, Rachel Settle, Jenna Shifflett, Jimmie Wood III, Mariah Patterson, Lauren Keesecker, Landon Martin, Madison Maas, Cameryn Heidt, Kenneth Towles, Austin Storm, Isabella Maass and Nathanyel Thomas.

The following students were chosen as Top Beavers for the Week: Micah Patterson, Hunter Padgett, Blake Shipe, Liliana Combe, Kaya Hill, Roxanne Hensel, Maddie Hayes, Shamari Paige, Ashley Buck, John Hall, Madison Pittman, Kaitlyn Morris, Jorja White, Lavell Hart, Makynzie Terrell, Rachel Settle and James Oglesby.

--Anthony Bramlett

Riverview Elementary

Flag bearers are Kayla Davies, Caleb Hockaday, Hailey Payne and Ethan Wrye.

Studio 97 morning broadcasters are Tiana Brent, Tiffani Delano, Zavion Parker and Mason White.

Safety Patrol monitors are Ijah Langham-Anderson, Claire Blizzard, Elizabeth Doyle, Jeovani Guadamuz, Brittany Lamb, Rachel Sledd, Paige Sullivan and Julianne White.

Principal's Class of the Week is Elizabeth Hawthorne's second-grade class.

--Lisa Edson

Robert E. Lee Elementary

Students of the week are Nathan Blesi, Kelsey Hanrahan, Christopher Davis, Kinlee Stokes, Jasmine Galbreath and Michael Estur.

--Linda Wersching

Salem Elementary

The following students are classroom spelling bee winners: Neha Alam, Sharid Ayala, Kylie Dwyler, Morgan Galusha, Alyssa Gleason, Kenneth Jordan, Lili McGrath, Haleigh Perkins, Jessica Silkensen, Elaina Syrkes, Jaden Voyd and Dues Threatt.

The Salem Elementary Spelling Bee winner is Madison Brown.

The Salem Elementary Spelling Bee runner-up is Anna Newton.

--Adam Martin

Ni River Middle

Seventh-grader Gavin Cornell was recently selected to serve as a page for the House of Delegates during the 2013 Virginia General Assembly session.

The Student Council raised $101.07 to help the Thurman Brisben Homeless Shelter through the Change for the Homeless campaign. Jackie Epling's homeroom contributed the most "spare change."

-- Barbara McWhirt

Post Oak Middle

This year's spelling bee winners are:

Mary Connor--first place

Natalia Lewis--second place

Sarah Cuba--third place

Tyler Clift--fourth place.

Mary and Natalia will go on to represent Post Oak at the District level spelling bee in January.

--Kristen Weidle

Thornburg Middle

The following students earned a perfect score of 600 on one or more of their SOL tests: Eward Adams, Keaton Adams, Paul Adgerson, Sydney Andersen, Kelli Marie Anderson, Matthew Anderson, Addison Bach, Bryson Bachand, Lauryn Bache, Kyle Baker, Scott Batchelor, Donavan Beaver, Sarah Bostain, Dominique Brannan, Anna Carlyle, Alan Cornwall, Mauricio Cortez, Thomas Cue, Sarah Dishman, Severin Doroshenk, Jordan Downing, Andrew Fields, Patrick Foreman, Harrison Gagnon, Fiona Gilbert, Zachary Gouldman, William Grimes, Maxwell Guyer, Thomas Hackmeyer, Ana Haines, Kierron Hardy, Samuel Hills, Samuel Houchin, Danika Irish, Benjamin Jameson, Allison Jones, Annora Jones, Zachary Kramer, William Kujawa, Noah LaFleur, John Lagana III, Liam Lamberton, Heather Lawson, Reilly Leahy, Tyson Maddox, Julia Maldonado, Breanna Maris, Melanie Martinez-Lopez, Emily McFarland, Shane Medley, Ericka Melendez, Rachel Miller, Joshua Montgomery, Benjamin Morley, Chance Nicholas, Jessica O'Connor, Briana Paris, Francis Martin Perges, MacKenzie Perkins, Rebecca Peters, Hailey Phelps, Eric Pierron, Kassidy Pritchard, Emily Ramsey, Jocelyn-Rose Rancourt, Hunter Riddle, Calista Rieken, Chelsea Rivera-Morales, Jordan Rose, Madison Schickel, Natalya Spivack, Elena Tippett, Michael Wallace, Stephen Wallach, Tyrese Ward, Shelby Weedon, Anna Wei, Victoria Westermeyer, William White, Seth Williamson, Caitlin Woodford and Eric Zhang.

--Deb McMullan

Copyright 2014 The Free Lance-Star Publishing Company.