11.22.2014  |   | Subscribe  | Contact us

All News & Blogs

E-mail Alerts

School News

Date published: 2/11/2013


Fifth grade--Priyansy Ahir, Jacob Baker, Katelyn Bennett, Hannah Bless, Collin Boelman, Marshal Boutchyard, Tyler Cook, Scott Daub, Steven Dickinson, Dylan Dodson, Mariah Evans, Alicia Hall, Chelsea Hardin, Margaret Harold, Gabrielle Harrison, Earl Hull, Harry Knicely, Marshall Koll, Zachary Kreutzer, Emma Laslie, Savannah Marcum, Alivia Markham, Makenna McCann, Jose Mondragon, Seth Morcom, Summer Morris, Kiersten Oakes, Chloe O'Reilly, Dallas Owens, Cheyenne Petrowski, Dylan Powers, Leann Scrogham, Brystal Tatum, Johnnie Tayler, Nathan Voelkl, Thomas Waddy, Jalen Waller.

--Karen Dominick

Robert E. Lee Elementary

Students of the week are Jordan Bethea, Ian Smith, Thomas Leach, Ryder Ramsey, Andrew Woodard and Katie Carter.

Tracey Gerstbrien was named Robert E. Lee Elementary School Superstar for 2013.

--Linda Wersching

Smith Station Elementary

The following students have been chosen as Students of the Month for February:

Fifth grade--Gus Vogtli, Jacob Michalick, Tyler Man-chester, Breanna Hill, Emma Bergeron, Michael Adams

Fourth grade--Makayla Ikner, Alisa Holstein, Riley Brooks, Liam Branigan, Gabe Bolich

Third grade--Emily Tiller, Brianna Simpson, Nicholas Boyd, Emma Kilgore, Nathan Barnes

Second grade--Madison Roscoe, Jamie Palmateer, Garrett Hill, Jocelyn Guhl, Zachary Caldwell

First grade--Kira Tyler, Rebecca Rivas, Jayden Patel, Zachary Houff, Lexi Fincannon, Alyssa Biller;

Kindergarten--Juliana Velez, Gabriella Veras, Katelyn Small, Kailyn Sands, Dykari Hudson, Maia Fissel

--Shelby Harmon

Battlefield Middle

The following were winners of the monthly homeroom door decorating contest:


Science theme--Chris Goodrich's class, animal alphabet; Linda Hildebrand's class, plant and animal cells; Marie Mackrell's class, commensalism; Delonna White's class, atmosphere


Social Studies theme--Artistic Award, Josh Blum's class for Jacob Lawrence; Civics Award, the Library for the Preamble; Cross-curricular Award, Delonna White's class for Protecting the Environment; Main Office Award, Guidance Department for the United Nations; Unique Use of Media, Christine Culberson's class for the Wright Brothers; U.S. History Award, Chris Goodrich's class for Abraham Lincoln; World History Award, Rebecca Collier and Carol Nicholson's class for the Hebrews; Honorable Mention, Angel Bonham and Lisa Snead for Thomas Edison; Honorable Mention, Marie Mackrell's class for Alexander Graham Bell.

--Vicki Ullrich

Thornburg Middle

Simone Simmonds and Hunter Riddle recently competed as a team in their first debate tournament. The Spotsylvania County Middle School Debate League held this competition, its second of the school year, at Ni River Middle School, with 104 students comprising 52 teams, from all of the county's middle schools. Hunter and Simone's team placed 27th out of 52, and they competed in all three rounds, winning two out of the three.

--Deb McMullan

Previous Page  1  2